H. Berlioz - Symphonie fantastique: "Songe d'une nuit du sabbat" excerpt

Performance: Aspen Music Festival - July 18/17 Benedict Music Tent - Aspen, CO

J. Sibelius - Violin Concerto - Allegro moderato (excerpt)

Performance: Aspen Music Festival - July 11/17 Benedict Music Tent - Aspen, CO

R. Schumann - Märchenbilder, Op. 113: I. Nicht schnell

Shah Sadikov, viola ; Lolita Lisovskaya - Sayevich, piano

G.F.Handel - Imeneo (excerpt)

Performance: July 29/17 Wheeler Opera House - Aspen, CO

Please reload

September 10, 2017

Hays Symphony Orchestra to open season with “Fanfare”

Nothing could be more appropriate than Aaron Copland’s “Fanfare for the Common Man” to kick off the 2017-18 season of the Hays Symphony Orchestra at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 30, in Fort Hays State University’s Beach/Schmidt Performing Arts Center.

The “Fanfare” is a brief, brassy and exciting piece, guaranteed to unite musicians and audience alike in a desire for more. As homage “for the common man,” it reminds us now, as it did at the beginning of WWII, of the ideal of unity upon which our country was founded – “E Pluribus Unum” (out of many, one).

August 12, 2016

Hays Symphony's 2016-2017 concert season built on Russian masterworks

HAYS, Kan. -- The 103rd season of the Hays Symphony Orchestra features almost exclusively Russian music, intended as a tribute to the Volga-German heritage and cultural identity of Hays.

The 2016-2017 season is the second year of artistic direction under the baton of Shah Sadikov, assistant professor of music and theatre at Fort Hays State University.

March 20, 2016

Ambitious collaboration reimagines Stravinsky’s ‘A Soldier’s Tale’

“To be read, played and danced,” the original instructions for Igor Stravinsky’s “A Soldier’s Tale,” are not usually how it is presented nowadays. So it was a tremendous undertaking for Owen/Cox Dance and NAVO to present a lean, new production of the 1918 work. Together with actor Robert Gibby Brand, they brought their interpretation to Johnson County Community College’s Polsky Theatre on Saturday.

They reframed the work, originally for three actors and one dancer, for one narrator (Brand) and four dancers, and adapted Jeremy Sams’ translation of C.F. Ramuz’s original French text.

Please reload